College News

Exceptional Barton faculty recognized with Distinguished Instructor Awards

May 13, 2022
Story by Joe Vinduska
Photo by Brandon Steinert

Five Barton instructors earned the Distinguished Instructor Award for the 2021-2022 academic year for their efforts in the classroom.

The winners are:

Janet Balk – History Instructor – Fort Riley Campus

Latoya Hill – Pharmacy Technician Instructor – Barton Online

Colvin Hooser – Music Instructor - Fort Leavenworth Campus

Andrea Jenkins – Math Instructor - Barton County Campus

Karey Marshall – Chemistry Instructor – Adjunct Faculty

The Distinguished Instructor Award recognizes teaching excellence. Faculty members are nominated by their peers and then evaluated by a committee including Barton students, a previous Distinguished Instructor Award recipient, members of the Barton Foundation and Board of Trustees, and community members. The committee considers each instructor’s contributions to teaching and learning, the college mission, and the community.

A plaque reflecting the names of the award recipients is displayed in Barton’s Office of Instruction located in the Science Building.